Victory!

Remember the seeds I planted last weekend?  Well – they’re growing!  I keep peeking at the seeds making sure they’re all still there, and my mouth waters for some home grown cucumbers! I’d say so far it’s a victory for me!

Speaking of victory, Andy and I started our victory garden this weekend.

Saturday was nice, we were able to get most of the frame of the garden set up – luckily the “landscape lumber” that I wanted was on sale at Home Depot for $3.97 for 8 feet.  We ended up getting 3 pieces and making an 8×4′ frame for a start.  Not sure how much space we’ll actually need, so far the only real big plants I have for the garden are cucumbers, lettuce and tomatoes.  I think for now I’ll plant my herbs in pots so that I can move them around a little and use them for decorating the patio area.

After we Andy and Ellie framed in the garden, Ellie nominated herself for grass/dirt removal. She’s still got a lot of work to do, but luckily my Dad offered his gas powered tiller.  Not that I doubt her ability to dig all that up.  Not at all…

So after some substantial dirt time – Ellie decided to clean off in her pool while the rest of us enjoyed dinner!

And will you seriously check out all the Rhubarb we had growing in the back?!  Anybody have any great Rhubarb recipes to share??  I’ve never experimented with it before, so this should be interesting!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

