A Sew-Sew Skirt

The straw that broke the camels back when I was pregnant and nesting was Bella’s crib bedskirt.  I absolutely could not find one that I liked, and the one I did find was a special order in a very expensive linen from a very expensive baby store.  I had no energy to devote to making one.  So, my (very crappy) solution at 40 weeks pregnant was a white Ikea curtain shoved under her crib mattress and puddled on the floor in a very chic way.

Did I fool you?  Who am I kidding!?  It looked pretty lame.  Lately, I’ve been really wanting to try out a few tutorials on making crib sheets.  It looks fairly simple, and Crafty Planet has some of the cutest fabrics imaginable, so win-win.

So the other day I was packing up some of Bella’s 3-6 month clothes (sniff, sniff) and storing them under her crib, and I looked at the situation with the curtain and the floofing and decided it could go on no longer.  So off it came.  I whipped out my tape measure and got to work!

I googled “crib skirt tutorial” a few times and only was able to find tutorials on no-sew crib skirts which involve Velcro and hem tape.  Well, I can sew, so I’d rather do that than mess around with Velcro.  I never have much luck with custom made things – so I took a risk (go figure…) and tried it out!

Bella’s crib is a pretty standard size, which didn’t really matter, but made it easy to buy fabric because the decorator fabric was a little wider than the widest portion of the fabric I needed.  Another win-win.

Her crib’s mattress support (which was where the crib skirt would hang) was 51″x26″, and the crib mattress still sits up as high as it can go, so I wanted a 20″ drop to the floor.  When we drop her mattress down in a few months I will just hem the bottom, or just let it puddle.

I chose an Amy Butler print in a teal-ish color to match her buffet.  It was a little pricey – $16.95/yard, but luckily I had a $10 frequent shopper credit at Crafty Planet, which saved me some bucks.  For the top of the crib skirt (the area that lays on the mattress support), I had some plain white cotton from another project, but you could easily buy a cheap twin sheet at Target if you didn’t want to splurge on more cotton at the fabric store.

So, to start, I cut 4 panels of fabric (2 for the long sides and 2 for the short sides), making sure they were a few inches larger for the hem and stitching.  I cut out 2 – 54″x23″ and 2 – 28″x23″ panels.  I then ironed over a 4.5″ hem for the bottom and 1″ on each side to clean up the edges.

The whole project probably would have only taken about an hour, if you didn’t have to change a poopy diaper and give a bath in between.  Basically, most of the time was spent sewing up the hems and prepping the panels.

Once I had all the panels hemmed, I cut out the white base fabric and began pinning the panels – right sides together.  I pinned each panel to the white fabric (and didn’t take any pics!) and then realized it would be easier to sew a panel, then pin the next panel and sew, etc…  Trying to figure out which panel went which way and do that without stabbing myself was more work than I was willing to do.  Hence me pinning and sewing each one separately.

When I finished sewing the panels on, I flipped the whole thing over, ironed it, and dropped it into place.  I was pretty surprised how easy this was, and how great it turned out!

I ended up having about a yard of fabric leftover, so I used these little crib pillow inserts I snagged at the Room & Board outlet for $4.99 to make a few throw pillows for her room. Don’t worry, I don’t let her sleep with them in her crib — she couldn’t get to them anyways.  We’re a little behind in the rolling over milestone.  Blame it on her hatred for tummy time.  And me for not pushing her to do it more.  That’s another issue.

I love the way the polka dots look with the new crib skirt!  I am planning to make some new crib sheets though when I get a chance!  Stay tuned!

I’m by no means an expert on sewing, but I’m glad I went for the sewn crib skirt vs. the Velcro – I think it looks great and I know she won’t be able to pull it off when she gets older!

xoxo

Alison

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Sew-Sew Skirt

  1. Leslie Bowman says:

    It all looks beautiful Alison!

Leave a Reply

