Before & After: A Dingy Fridge

I am suffering today from a coffee fail all over the front of my favorite aqua blue sweater.  Feeling so totally sorry for myself that I will have to spend the entire day walking around like a giant schmuck with a brown blurb on my shirt.

I will place the blame on my innocent sleeping baby.  She spit up all over me.  A big mocha-y spit up.  That’s the price you pay for being a great mother, right?

Anyways, let’s not dwell.

I am crossing another item off my checklist.  100 points for me! I painted the fridge.  I love it, and I should have done it 3 years ago. Remember the before?

Oh, hi, Ellie.  Ever notice that she inserts herself into every photo, like that obnoxious guy screaming “HI MOM!!!” as the news reporter brings you the latest news in a terrible disaster.

And because this blog is about accountability — this is what the floor looked like when I pulled the fridge out.  I’ll blame the baby, again.

I was going to make my own chalkboard paint, but my general contractor husband informed me we were running low on grout.  So instead I picked up some Martha Stewart chalkboard paint from Michaels.  Did you know they only had the spray chalkboard paint or the extremely overpriced Martha Stewart actual paint?  I thought that was crazy flakes.  Either way, use a coupon and it’s only like $3.00 a bottle.

I ended up needing about 4 coats of paint to cover it completely.  Next time I might prime the fridge with some regular cheapo black paint, and then cover it with the chalkboard paint last.  Seems like that would have cut down on the amount of Martha paint I needed to use.

The directions said to let the paint dry for 24 painstakingly long hours.  I gave it about 12 and then couldn’t wait any longer.  Then you needed to cure the paint by rubbing chalk all over the surface.  DONE and DONE.  Here is the finished product.  Like I said before, I LOVE it and would definitely recommend it if you’re hating your fridge as much as I was and can’t justify buying a new fridge because darn-it, it still works.

We miss Dad for sure.  Andy is coming home today after 72 hours at work and I could not be more excited.  Mama’s ready for a little break, if you know what I mean.  Kudos to all the single parents out there.  That’s a whole lotta work.

So, whattaya say?  Yay or nay to the chalkboard fridge?

This entry was posted in Before & After and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Before & After: A Dingy Fridge

  1. Caroline says:

    Super cute. I don’t have the patience or kid free time to do this. I’m impressed at the short time between conception and execution, too!

Leave a Reply

